I always look forward to reading The Pleasure of Eating on the back page of the Bangkok Post’s Outlook, where the renowned Prisna Boonsinsukh offers new recipes along with a little background and trivia on the recipes or main ingredient. Recent themes included marinades, veal, and pomegranates.

We have not had fish in a very long time and when I found this recipe in an older copy of Outlook at Dasa Book Café on Sukhumvit I copied it immediately. It was actually the first recipe by Ms. Boonsinsukh that I tried and it was perfect! I am giving the recipe pretty much as it was in the paper, with some suggestions as always at the end.

You will need:

40g of coriander, leaves removed
2 long green chilies, chopped
25g grated palm sugar
2 cloves garlic, crushed
2 tablespoons sliced/chopped fresh ginger
40ml fish sauce
125ml limejuice
8 kafir lime leaves shredded
1 stalk lemon grass, trimmed and chopped
200g white fish fillets

Make:

Separate the coriander leaves from stalks and set aside. Put the stalks, chilies, sugar, garlic, ginger, fish sauce, and limejuice in a food processor and process until you have a rough paste, this is your marinade. Pour this marinade into a non-metallic container and add the lime leaves and lemon grass. Coat the fish fillets with half of the marinade and refrigerate for thirty minutes set the rest of the marinade aside.
After thirty minutes, heat a little oil in a frying pan over high heat, cook the fish for about 3 or 4 minutes each side until ready and you’re done. Serve the fish with the rest of the marinade.

Suggestions:
- as usual, seed the chilies completely or partially or not at all, depending on your own tastes.
- according to Ms. Boonsinsukh any white fish fillets would do, I used Indian halibut and worked lovely.
- I found that there was a lot of the marinade left after halving it, so if you intend to cook for more people you could probably stick to these amounts for the marinade recipe and use all of it to marinate your fish in
- I did not have palm sugar at hand, so I just used some regular, very soft brown sugar
- some of the coriander leaves I used for garnish and the rest I kept refrigerated for use in other dishes.