picnic site and spread

I suppose I should not really complain about the wintery weather we experienced during most of September, seen as most of our winter was actually pretty mild. Although there were some cold spells we actually enjoyed a pleasant cold season with some splendid days.

On one of those glorious Sundays we decided to pack up a picnic and enjoy the sun on Signal Hill. While Alexander prepared ginger-lemonade in Console flasks I quickly assembled some boerewors rolls (a very traditional South African meat sausage with lots of dry spices in it) with whole-wheat rolls and some of my dad’s home-made kiwi chutney. For dessert I brought along lemon meringue cupcakes I made the day before.

It was such a lovely day and if I remember correctly I even got a little bit of a tan on my arms. In winter!