In keeping with a bit of a recent obsession I baked pumpkin chocolate chip cookies yesterday. I found the recipe at allrecipes.com. I discovered that the Villa Market supermarkets chains stock canned pumpkin, so I decided to go about it the easy way and picked up a can on the way home from work.

While making them I decided that I am most definitely spoiling myself with an electric hand mixer once I get this month’s check and proper mixing bowls. This fork and pot business is just not charming enough for me anymore.

You need:

1 cup white sugar
½ cup brown sugar
½ cup shortening
1 egg
1 cup canned pumpkin
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
2 and ½ cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 cup chocolate chips

Make:

Preheat the over to 175C.
Cream the sugar and shortening. Mix in the egg. Add the vanilla essence and pumpkin and stir through until combined. Sift in the dry ingredients, except for the chocolate chips and mix. When all of this is combined well, add the cup of chocolate chips and mix it in.
Scoop spoons (or teaspoons) full of the batter onto cookie sheets and bake for about 15 minutes.

Let it cool and enjoy.

I scooped large spoons full of the batter onto the cookie sheets and they came out looking like Chernobyl cookies. Fantastic!

Suggestions for pumpkin chocolate chip cookies:

– the original recipe called for only white sugar, but for some reason I mix in some brown with everything of late. Both I assume work fine.
– next time I think I will add a little more cinnamon and nutmeg than 1 teaspoon