I realized recently that the largest part of my salary is going towards grocery shopping. I love all kinds of shopping, but I especially enjoy shopping for the kitchen. I am constantly making little lists of things I want to pick up for the nights dinner or future baking projects.

My problem with doing so much grocery shopping in Bangkok is the plastic bags grocery bags that get handed out with reckless abandon. I have a hard time explaining to the people at the check-out counters that I do not need two bags for three items.

I picked up this large pink shopping bag for B10 (less than a dollar) at a market and it works wonderfully for big shopping trips, but unfortunately it is too large to carry with me all the time.

So I was very excited when I found this fun bag at Playground a while ago. It cost a bit more than my pink shopping bag (about US$3- which is still very cheap) but it rolls up and fits perfectly into my shoulder bag. So whenever I stop at a grocer on the way home to pick up a can of this or a bottle of that I can whip my small shopping bag out and insist on my groceries being put into it.

The picture at the top of this entry was taken by Alexander less than an hour after I bought the bag, it was already being put to good use. Money well spent, I think.