I tried a variation on a fall stew recipe I read the other day for dinner last night. It’s supposed to be cooked in an oven bag, but seen as I do not have such an item, (as a matter of fact I’ve never heard of it before!) I just used our aluminum baking tins. Yes, I still do not have a proper baking pan or casserole dish, but in the meantime this is working well and we do recycle them.

The original recipe, and many other great ones, can be found at here at Almost Turkish Recipes.

Collect:

1 Asian eggplant

1 carrot

1 zucchini

1/2 red onion

1 tomato

1/2 cup red cabbage

1 banana chili

2 cloves garlic

100 grams pork loin

handful of chopped fresh parsley

2 tablespoons olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

1/2 tablespoon tomato paste

1/2 cup water

Make:

Preheat the oven to 200C. Chop, dice, cube and round all the ingredients, anyway that you like. Combine them all in a large mixing bowl and mix well. Put this mixture into an oven pan (like I did) or a casserole dish. Mix the water and tomato paste and pour over. Cover with aluminum foil and make three holes in the top. Cook in the oven for one hour.

I served it with some toor dal and a roasted beetroot salad. Fresh and satisfying.

Suggestions for the stew:

– this was way to much for two people for one meal. The rest is going into the blender tonight to become soup.

– you can use any other meat or none at all and you can add some more veggies or different kinds.

– the ingredients added their own flavors to the dish, for some additional flavor you can add other dried or fresh herbs to your liking.