Why can’t I just stick to a recipe that has been tried and trusted by many? I always feel the urge to tweak a bit and sometimes the results are a bit odd if not downright weird.

I got the urge to bake muffins again on Tuesday and picked up some yogurt and fresh toasted coconut on the way home. I searched around for a new recipe and found on that seemed quick and easy. I was going to make one half of the muffins adding some coconut flakes and the other using blueberry yogurt and poppy seeds. Instead of just sticking to flour I decided to use whole wheat flour. I enjoy the fiber and thought it would work perfectly.

I guess my whole wheat flour is a bit too fibrous, resulting in pretty dense and flat muffins. They still tasted yummy though and are incredibly filling. But I was bothered by their lack of height, so yesterday I baked another half batch.

I still insisted on using some whole wheat flour, but this time I added less than a quarter cup to the rest of the flour and it came out with a bit more body. The second batch was a chocolate chip one. I felt the need to spoil myself after my latest sewing project finally got to me.

I do think I need a proper muffin tray though, these cupcake cups just don’t cut it anymore. And I still need to get mixing bowls. And now I want a springform pan too after I read a terribly decadent cheesecake recipe earlier today.

Here follows the basic simple muffin recipe.

Arrange:

2 cups flour

1 cup sugar (white or brown)

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

150ml plain yogurt

1 egg

1 teaspoon vanilla essence

4 tablespoons butter, melted

Make:

Preheat the oven to 180C. Mix all the dry ingredients together. Mix all the wet ingredients together. Add the wet to the dry mixture and mix it well. Fill muffin pans to about 2/3 of the pans and put in the oven. Bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean. Take out of the oven and let them cool. Of course, just following the above recipe might result in fairly bland muffins, so here are some suggestions.

Suggestions for the Simple Muffin Recipe:

– use different kinds of yogurt. I used blueberry yogurt in one batch, coconut yogurt in another and plain in the third.

– add some fun ingredients. I did not have blueberries, so I added some poppy seeds to make that batch a bit more fun and toasted coconut to the coconut ones. For the chocolate chip muffins I added a tablespoon ful of cocoa and generous helpings of chocolate chips. Yum!

– this is a really easy recipe and I think one can really play around with it, I’m definitely going to work on it and will keep you posted