I was tagged, quite some time ago, by fellow South African food blogger, and winner of TWO! South African Blog Awards, Jeanne of Cook Sister! for a Meme. Now I think I’ve mentioned before that I feel a bit awkward about doing these, but at the same time I think I get a little bit of a kick out of it. If only because I really like talking about myself.

So I’ll try to stick to the original as much as possible, but I’ve decided to veer of track a little too.

What were you doing 10 years ago?

Working at my first full-time office job and trying to finish my BA degree. Neither of the two made me very happy.

What were you doing 1 year ago?

Living in Koreatown, LA and exploring the city with Alexander.

5 Snacks you enjoy.

– Meang kham, a Thai snack of palm sugar paste, ginger, lime, chili, peanuts and toasted coconut wrapped in betel leave.

– Raw peanuts and cashew nuts.

– Brie on pear.

– Beskuit, A South African version of biscotti, only way better.

– Chocolate, if it can be considered a snack.

Five things you would do if you were a millionaire

That I guess would depend on the currency. But mainly I guess I’d probably end up spending it all on one thing and that is travel-travel-travel. I’m not good with money. And yes I will try not to be selfish and donate to some good causes.

Five things you like doing

– travel

– lounging around in cafes

– cooking and baking

– travel (not a mistake)

– shopping

Five things you would never wear again

-rugby shorts

-waist coats (probably)

-turtleneck shirts

-piercings

-long hair

Five personal bits of information (here’s where I veer off)

-I wanted to be princess Diana after I saw the wedding on television as a 5-year old

-I played dress-up with my sister’s Barbie when no one was home

-I was constantly sneaking into my Mom’s jewelry box and putting on her bracelets as a kid

-I was the first one of my friends as a teenager to get hair under my arms, I was mortified (if you take the above points into consideration)

-I am… a GUY.

Yep, you heard me. I decided to come out of the guy-closet publicly as I’ve come to realize that there may be some confusion as to my sexuality! The confusion resulted in lots of laughter for me and Alexander (he’s also a guy) and if you have at any point addressed me as a woman, please know that I am not at all offended and must admit to getting a bit of a kick out of the confusion I may have caused.

I know the name of my blog is probably the biggest cause of the confusion so let me explain. Marita is my mother. I’m not sure if she’s completely aware that I partially named my blog after her, but anyways. She’s Marita and I am Bordeaux. Her son.

That’s me (the guy, not the notebook or fort) and that was my Meme. Sorry for not being good at tagging, if you read this consider yourselves tagged and then you can choose to either do a Meme or not.