Photobucket

I think I’m fortunate to be able to call 4 places home so far in my life. Three of them becoming home in the last 9 years. So whenever I say, “I am going home” I have to kind of wonder about how ‘home’ is this ‘home’ I am returning too.

There is my ancestral home, South Africa, where I was born and spent pretty much the first 23 years of my life. It’s a country that will always be close to my heart and I love the fact that I can call it home. Despite a lot of past and present negativity that a lot of people associate with the country (South Africans and non-South Africans) I believe that it can and hopefully will all be resolved in time and we (Alexander and I) hope to return there in the future. But since my high school days I knew that I was going to be out of the country for long periods of time and that it would not be my only home.

When the chance came for me to go and work in Taiwan in 1999 I did not hesitate about taking it for a second. This was just for the summer, but I returned early in 2000 and stayed until the end of 2005. Taiwan became my home for the largest part of my adult life.

Photobucket

I returned to South Africa in 2006, only to leave it again at the beginning of last year. First to return to Taiwan for a 6 week visit after which I joined Alexander in LA for a couple of months. My time in LA was fantastic. I did not know what to expect and most people painted a rather unpleasant picture. But from the moment I stepped out of the airport I was in love with the place and if there is any way for me to make a decent living there I will head back there tomorrow (any suggestions?).

And then came Bangkok. Home since August last year and in all likelihood home for a while to come still. I adore this city that so many people dislike for being to overcrowded and too hot. Besides the smog I certainly cannot complain.

Now I was getting somewhere with all of this and that is that we are going to Taiwan this summer. I am returning home. It will be Alexander’s first time and I am looking forward to the experience of showing him my ‘second home’, meeting some old friends and trying out authentic Chinese food again.

Photobucket

Taiwan is the country where I went from reckless adolescent to a more mature person who kind-of knew what he wanted out of life (still working on that one). I went through phases of totally despising it, to feeling nothing, to being completely crazy about it. Through all of this I also think I kind of got to take it for granted.

Photobucket

When I went back last year I appreciated it much more, on an internal level. Mostly because I spent a large amount of time alone during the town where I lived, Hsinchu’s, bleak winter.

Photobucket

This time I am returning with a fellow explorer and anticipating growing much fonder of the country during our time.

So there you have it. The next big move. I’ll try to capture some images and moments and have them here on a regular basis and maybe even trying some new recipes while there. I cannot wait.

Photobucket