Photobucket

After a bowl of muesli with yogurt and fresh fruit, my favorite breakfast meal is danbing. Its something I discovered when I first came to Taiwan and fell very much in love with. Danbing literally means egg-pancake and it is, literally, an egg pancake. An egg is fried on a hot griddle, almost like an omelet, a crispy pancake is added on top and then flipped over to grill the pancake. A filling of bacon, cheese, tuna or chicken is often added before the whole thing gets rolled up and served with thick soy sauce. Delicious!

Photobucket

The pancakes for making danbing can be found at just about any grocer in Taiwan, and so I decided to try my own version for breakfast I chopped up some tomatoes, garlic and mushrooms, wrapped it up in aluminum and cooked in the oven for a few minutes. In a bowl I mixed eggs, salt and pepper and some shredded basil leaves and then fried it, like an omelet, before placing a frozen pancake sheet on top and flipping it all over. I let the pancake grill for a few seconds, added the filling, rolled it up and served it.

Photobucket

Simple, easy and tasty. Now if only I could find a place in Cape Town who sold the pancakes!