The past couple of Friday nights we’ve headed over to Alexander’s sister and husband’s place for dinner and movies or games, making pizzas, spring rolls, satay and other fun dinners. We always end up spending the night and having breakfast the next morning before moving onto a new project like baking cake or attempting doughnuts.

Last weekend I tried a new way of making french toast after paging through the latest issue of Cook’s’ Illustrated. For this Saturday morning’s breakfast I decided to steer away from looking for a recipe, but rather look at the visually stunning Simply Breakfast (I’m sure most of you are familiar with this sight) for inspiration. The first picture I saw was the one that stuck with me while I was looking over her pages. A lovely poached egg, served on a slice of toast. See the picture below.

poached-eggs-simply-breakfast

And so I decided to make poached eggs for breakfasts for the first time in my life. With the help of Julia Child. Alexander’s been reading about her a lot recently, and as his dad has several of her books on his shelves I decided to make use of her expertise. The recipe I used was from Mastering the Art of French Cooking Volume One and it made the process go smoothly. Even I was impressed.

I served the eggs one slices of multigrain toast with oven baked roma tomatoes on the side. It was the perfect breakfast to start the weekend as well as our week of breakfast. More about that later.