huevos-rancheros

It would have been wrong for me to do my week of breakfasts without making huevos rancheros. I am, after all, hanging out in New Mexico, just north of the border of the birthplace (I believe?) of this hearty breakfast. There are several recipes for huevos rancheros, so I could not really figure out if there was an exact authentic one. I guess you can wing it a bit to your own liking.

What I like about this recipe is that it suggests using roasted green chile, which is very New Mexican. I’ve never enjoyed green chile before my first visit here and I’ve instantly fallen in love with it. I knew red chile, but now green. Red chili is fine, but green is fantastic!

For huevos rancheros with an NM twist you need to hoard for the sauce:

1 tablespoon oil

1 medium onion, chopped

2 garlic cloves, minced

3/4 cup chopped and roasted green chile

2 cups canned, crushed tomatoes

1 tablespoon white vinegar

1- 2 teaspoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon cumin seeds, toasted and ground

salt to taste

1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro (I omitted this fav ingredient of mine as I forgot to pick it up- blah me)

1 tablespoon fresh lime juice

The rest:

8 corn tortillas

8 eggs

2 tablespoons unsalted butter

salt and fresh ground black pepper to taste

2 ounces Monterey Jack, or mild Cheddar, grated (I read somewhere that for authentic HR it needs to be Monterey Jack)

Sour cream, creme freche or chopped cilantro (optional)

To make this excellent breakfast, start with the sauce:

Warm the oil in a large skillet and add the garlic and onion over medium. Cook until limp. Add all the other ingredients except for the cilantro and lime juice. Bring to a boil, cover and simmer for 15 minutes, until thickened. Add the cilantro (if using) and lime juice just before removing from heat. The sauce can be made the previous night and reheated before serving.

Next, heat about 1/4 inch of oil in a medium skillet, dip the tortillas in the oil, cook for a couple of seconds until soft, drain and arrange 2on a plate, overlapping.

Pour most of the oil from the skillet, but leave some to coat the surface. Warm over medium heat, add butter (1-2 teaspoons) and when foam subsides pour in the eggs, 2-4 at a time, cook for a minute while spooning over the butter, add salt and pepper to taste and turn down the heat, continue cooking until the eggs are to your liking.

Top the tortillas with eggs, sprinkle some cheese over each egg and top with portions of the sauce. Serve immediately, having each guest garnish with cream or cilantro if they wish.

huevos-rancheros-and-runny-egg

I made the sauce last night, refrigerated it and just heated it up again this morning. I was not sure about adding the cumin to the sauce, I’m used to it being added to Indian dishes. Alexander tasted it though and said it tastes just right. I have not seen it being added in any other recipes for this dish, but I will certainly keep on making use of it. It added a really nice additional flavor to the spicy tomato-ness of the sauce.

I’ve also never been a big fan of runny eggs, but I’ve come to the realization that it goes really well with Mexican and New Mexican dishes as it melds together all the other flavors and ingredients. This recipe is a keeper and I cannot wait to make it for my own family!

This recipe is from A Real American Breakfast by Cheryl Alters Jamison and Bil Jamison. It yields enough to serve 4 people.