many cupcakes

I got reprimanded by Alexander one evening last week for not using one of my birthday gifts often enough. Since he gave me the book cupcakes back in March I have, admittedly, only made one of the recipes in the book. I have used it as inspiration for a couple of other ideas. None of which I ever, unfortunately, took pictures of.

So I decided that instead of going to bed at 8:30 we should bake. He picked a recipe for peanut butter cupcakes and suggested we add some apricot jam (inspired by another recipe for jam cupcakes) to make peanut butter and jam cupcakes. Clever fiancé I have.

By the time they came out the oven I was seriously in the mood to crawl in (I’ve been waking up in increments of 30 minutes earlier each day this week and then feel beat pretty early) and so we decided to leave them to cool and do the frosting the next morning.

unfrosted cupcakes
It does not take a genius to notice something seriously wrong with these cupcakes, both frosted and unfrosted. They are decidedly dark. This is because our apartment’s oven has issues. I think the owners skimped out on quality, so it does not heat up really well and it is always a bit of a mission getting the temperature just right. I had more success with our tiny oven in Bangkok. Lately almost everything I bake comes out a little too dry around the edges and too moist in the center. Oh well, it all still tastes good and hopefully I’ll figure out the heat settings soon. Perhaps being out of cupcake liners was part of the problem in this case.

If you felt like attempting these you should have:
1 cup self-raising flour
¼ cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon apricot jam
milk
150g butter at room temperature and cut into cubes
½ cup soft brown sugar
2 eggs
½ cup peanut butter (I used crunchy)

And for the frosting:
¼ cup peanut butter
½ cup confectioner’s sugar
2 tablespoons apricot jam

And to make them:

Preheat the oven to 180C and line a muffin baking tray with cupcake liners, I made about 12 large ones. Sift the two flours together and set aside. Measure the tablespoon apricot jam into a quarter cup and fill the rest with milk, set aside.

Beat the butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Then add the peanut butter and beat until combined. Add the flour and milk alternately, starting and ending with the flour. Fill the cupcake liners with spoons full of the batter and bake for about 12 minutes until ready. Let them cool while you whip up the frosting.

In a mixing bowl, beat together the sugar, peanut butter and apricot jam until smooth. Spread over the cupcakes and serve with some tea on a sunny lazy morning.

two cupcakes